What Are the Nevada Vehicle Insurance Requirements?
According to the Department of Motor Vehicles, all drivers in Nevada are required by law to carry minimum liability coverage vehicle insurance for motorcycles, cars, trucks, or other vehicles like RVs.
Minimum liability insurance coverage protects drivers from bodily injury or physical damage resulting from traffic collisions or other losses they are responsible for causing.
At Bertoldo, Baker, Carter & Smith, our Las Vegas personal injury attorneys know that the required liability coverage only insures damage to the other person’s property or injuries — it will not cover the policyholder’s driver or passengers who live in the same residence if they are injured in the collision, nor the property damage that policyholder sustains.
Those facts can become a serious financial burden if you are negligently responsible for a collision that causes injuries or permanently disables your vehicle.
What Are the Minimum Auto Insurance Coverage Requirements in Nevada?
Beginning July 2018, the Nevada Division of Insurance increased the minimum motor vehicle liability insurance requirements to a 25/50/20 coverage rule, which represents:
- Bodily injury per person: $25,000
- Bodily injury per collision: $50,000
- Property damage: $20,000
If you are financing or leasing a vehicle, your agreement may require you to purchase collision and comprehensive coverage until the vehicle is paid in full or the contract is up. Be sure to read your vehicle coverage requirements closely before deciding to pursue the minimum amount of coverage.
All drivers’ insurance coverage must be validated and presented for verification when registering a vehicle, and during renewals, rein statements, and license plate changes.
What Are Other Vehicle Insurance Coverage Options in Nevada?
While minimum auto insurance coverage is all that is required by law, it is recommended that drivers pursue additional options to ensure he or she, and their passengers, are covered if they are hurt during a crash. Additional coverage will provide financial relief for injury victims no matter who is at fault or if the other driver’s insurance does not cover the collision’s damage requirements.
Additional Nevada vehicle insurance coverage options can include:
- Collision Coverage: Covers damages caused by collisions, no matter who was at fault
- Comprehensive Coverage: Covers damages by external factors other than a crash, including weather, falling objects, fire, flood, theft damage, or vandalism
- Towing & Labor Coverage: Covers costs associated with towing or roadside assistance
Please note that collision, comprehensive, or towing and labor coverage will not pay for your injuries or your passengers’ injuries after a collision occurs.
You may purchase additional coverage that will protect you and your vehicle occupants when medical treatment and additional expenses are required because of injuries sustained in a collision.
- Medical Payments: Often called MedPay, this coverage pays for injury treatments for you and your passengers, no matter who was at fault for the collision. MedPay will also pay for any treatments that result from being struck as a pedestrian by a motor vehicle
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: This coverage pays for you and your passengers’ medical costs if you are in a collision with an at-fault driver who has either no insurance or is underinsured for the complete amount your treatment requires
What Happens If I Drive Without Vehicle Insurance in Nevada?
Insurance coverage is monitored by the Nevada LIVE system.
The system checks the status of each driver’s insurance coverage throughout the year including when they register and renew your vehicle registration.
If vehicle insurance cannot be verified by the system, the driver will receive a notification from the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles that require a response with proof of insurance within 15 days to avoid suspension.
There is also a $251 reinstatement fee that accompanies the first suspension, with increased fees applying for additional offenses.
How Are My Nevada Insurance Rates Decided?
Nevada insurance companies look at many different factors when determining insurance rates.
Those factors can include, but are not limited to:
- Claims history
- Credit report
- Driving record
- Gender and age
- Make and model of the vehicle
- Marital Status
- Vehicle Location
Each of these categories will be weighed separately and together, with an emphasis placed on driving records. If the policyholder has been convicted of a DUI, reckless driving, or have amassed a substantial amount of points for speeding or other moving violations, their vehicle insurance rates will increase according to those factors.
If you have been injured in a vehicle collision in Nevada, contact our experienced Las Vegas car accident attorney at Bertoldo, Baker, Carter & Smith at 702-228-2600 to discuss your legal options. We can help you pursue the negligent driver who caused your personal injuries and property damage for the financial recovery you deserve by scheduling a free consultation today.