Skip to Content
We Are Available to Help You 24/7 - Se Habla Español

Uber Settles After Death of a Child


One family’s New Year’s Eve turned to tragedy in 2013, because of the actions of an Uber driver in San Francisco.

On New Years' Eve 2013, a woman entered a crosswalk with her young daughter and son. As they were crossing, a driver traveled through the crosswalk, hitting both of the children. The son suffered significant injuries while the six-year-old girl succumbed to her wounds and died.
Uber Driver at the Wheel

At the time of the collision, the driver of the vehicle was logged into the Uber network but did not have any passengers in the vehicle. Uber claimed that because the driver was not providing services, the company was not responsible and the driver was personally liable.

Uber ultimately settled with the family for an undisclosed amount. The settlement also included monetary compensation for the girl’s brother who was injured as a result of the collision.
Can You Sue Uber?

Here in Nevada, Uber must ensure that each driver carries a minimum of $1.5 million in liability coverage when there is a passenger in the vehicle and $50,000 per person liability when the driver is logged into the network but has not yet picked up a passenger. A big disparity exists between the two coverage limits.

Another issue is that Uber drivers in our state are generally considered to be independent contractors and not employees (as they are in California). However, it may still be possible for an injured party to sue Uber if the party is able to prove that Uber conducts itself as an employer.
The Importance of Legal Representation

The best option for anyone who has been injured by an Uber or Lyft driver is to hire a personal injury attorney. The personal injury attorneys at the Bertoldo Carter Smith & Cullen have the experience and skills to navigate the laws surrounding your particular situation and will best be able to advise whether or not you have a claim.

We invite you to call Bertoldo Carter Smith & Cullen today to discuss your personal injury claim, at (702) 505-8115.

Share To: