More States Adapting Texting-and-Driving Ban
Effective November 1, it is now illegal to text while behind the wheel of a vehicle in the state of Oklahoma.
The state became the latest to adapt a proactive anti-distracted driving measure, as the nation continues to face a rising number of accidents and fatalities as a result of distracted drivers.
The ban now makes texting of any sort, including posting on Facebook and Twitter, a primary offense that carries a $100 fine. Although there are concerns regarding its enforcement, Oklahoma authorities have indicated that the initiative is not a “phone snatching” measure, and that departments will look for proper cause before handling discipline on a case-by-case basis.
Lawmakers also noted that the law applies only to drivers in moving vehicles – those stopped at traffic lights or stop signs are still able to use their mobile devices.
The measure earned notable support from an area family whose son was killed by a distracted driver. Trooper Nick Dees was struck and killed by a driver who was allegedly updating his Facebook account at the time. As a result, Dees’ name has been formally attached to the measure, and his family took it to the state capitol in late October.
Here in Nevada, there are hand-held and text messaging bans in place for all drivers, including novice drivers and school bus drivers.
If You’ve Been Injured by a Distracted Driver
Distracted drivers have become a significant problem on the country’s roadways in recent years. Although some states have cracked down significantly on anti-distraction initiatives, drivers are utilizing their mobile devices behind the wheel more than ever before.
Recent figures from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) indicate that an estimated 15 people lose their lives, with more than 1,200 suffering from personal injury, as a result of distracted drivers every day.
Despite the risks and costs associated with distracted driving, many people still admit to breaking the rules when behind the wheel. The CDC also reported that nearly 10 percent of U.S. drivers admit to utilizing their mobile device “regularly or fairly often,” with those in the 18 to 29 age bracket being the worst offenders.
In the state of Nevada, if you suffer an injury as a result of a distracted driving accident, such as texting or talking on a mobile device, you are eligible to file a personal injury claim. Such claims help guarantee the recovery of compensation for your personal injury, including covering lost wages or rehabilitative costs.
In Las Vegas, the legal team at Bertoldo, Baker, Carter and Smith can provide the experience you need regarding personal injury and distracted driving. Our attorneys have handled a variety of personal injury claims tied to reckless behavior, including texting, emailing, or talking on the phone while operating a vehicle. We understand that there are many challenges in your recovery process, and are prepared to help you receive the compensation you deserve.
Let us advocate on your behalf. To schedule your initial consultation with a member of our personal injury team, call us today at (702) 228-2600.
The Dangers Of Texting While Driving
New Research Shows The Increased Risks Associated With Texting And Driving
AAA Says Hands Free Texting is Not as Safe as We Think
What is my Personal Injury Claim Worth?
Know When To Contact A Las Vegas Personal Injury Attorney
What Types Of Damages Can I Seek After Suffering A Personal Injury?